UMass Academic Calendar 2023-2024 University of Massachusetts

Articles60 Views

UMass Academic Calendar 2023-2024 University of Massachusetts

Three looking at Laptop 2

Check out the important dates, events, schedules, and deadlines on the UMass Academic Calendar 2023-2024. You may find information about the five colleges’ academic calendars (including UMass Amherst) on the Five College Website. 

It’s important to note that this information is specific to UMass Amherst and that the schedules may differ slightly between the other UMass campuses, including UMass Boston, UMass Dartmouth, UMass Lowell, and UMass Medical School.

The University of Massachusetts (UMass) follows a semester system, where the academic year is divided into two main semesters: the Fall Semester and the Spring Semester.

In addition to the two main semesters, UMass also offers a Winter Session, which is a shorter period of time between the Fall and Spring Semesters. The Winter Session is generally around three weeks long and offers students the opportunity to take intensive courses or catch up on credits.

Below are the important dates and deadlines on the UMass academic calendar 2023-2024 for fall, winter, spring, and summer.

Table of Contents

UMass Academic Calendar fall 2023

Check out the important dates, events, schedules, and deadlines on the UMass Academic Calendar for Fall 2023.

  1. Registration begins for Fall 2023 begins on Wednesday, April 19, 2023.
  2. UMass move in day fall 2023 is from Thursday, August 31, 2023 to Monday, September 4, 2023.
  3. Move-In Reservation will be available on UMass SPIRE from August 14, 2023 through August 22, 2023.
  4. UMass First-Year Students Move-in day is Thursday, August 31, 2023.
  5. Move-in day for New Transfer Students, North Apartments, CHCRC Multi-year halls, Coolidge, John Q. Adams, and Washington floors 2 – 10 is Friday, September 1, 2023.
  6. Move-in day for the Remaining Multi-Year Students is Saturday, September 2, 2023.
  7. Unassisted Move-In is on Sunday, September 3, 2023, and Monday, September 4, 2023.
  8. Labor day holiday is Monday, September 4, 2023.
  9. UMass Fall 2023 classes begin on Tuesday September 5, 2023.
  10. Monday September 11, 2023 is the last day to add or drop any class with no record – Matriculated Undergraduate and Non-degree students.
  11. Monday September 18, 2023 is the last day to add or drop any class with no record – Matriculated Graduate students.
  12. Indigenous Peoples Day Holiday is Monday, October 9, 2023.
  13. Tuesday, October 31, 2023 is the last day to Drop with “DR” – Graduate. It is also the last day to Drop with ‘W’ and select ‘P/F’ – Undergraduate, Stockbridge, CPE.
  14. Veterans’ Day Holiday is Saturday, November 11, 2023.
  15. UMass Thanksgiving break 2023 is from Wednesday, November 22, 2023 to Sunday, November 26, 2023.
  16. Classes resume on Monday, November 27, 2023.
  17. The last day of classes is Friday, December 8, 2023.
  18. Reading Day is Saturday, December 9, 2023.
  19. Final examinations begin on Monday, December 11, 2023 to Friday, December 15, 2023.
  20. Umass winter break 2023 is from Saturday, December 16, 2023, to Wednesday, January 31, 2024. Traditional halls will close for Winter Break at 10:00am on Saturday, December 16, 2023. Non-Break residents who fail to vacate by this time will be subject to a $150 Unauthorized Occupancy Fee. 
  21. Final 2023 grades are due by Midnight on Thursday, December 21, 2023.

UMass Academic Calendar Spring 2024

Check out the important dates, events, schedules, and deadlines on the UMass Academic Calendar for Spring 2024.

  1. The first day of classes for Spring 2024 is on Thursday, February 1, 2024.
  2. The last day to add or drop any class with no record for undergraduate and non-degree students is on Wednesday, February 7, 2024.
  3. Matriculated graduate students have until Wednesday, February 14, 2024, to add or drop any class with no record.
  4. Presidents’ Day, a holiday, falls on Monday, February 19, 2024, and the Monday class schedule will be followed on Thursday, February 22, 2024.
  5. UMass Spring break 2024 is from Sunday, March 17, 2024, to Sunday, March 24, 2024. Classes resume on Monday, March 25, 2024.
  6. The last day for graduate students to drop with a “DR” is Thursday, April 4, 2024.
  7. Undergraduate, Stockbridge, and UWW students have until Thursday, April 4, 2024, to drop with a “W” and select “P/F.”
  8. Registration for Fall 2024 begins on Monday, April 8, 2024, according to Umass academic calendar 2024-2025.
  9. The Monday class schedule will be followed on Friday, April 12, 2024.
  10. Patriot’s Day, a holiday, is observed on Monday, April 15, 2024.
  11. The last day of classes is on Friday, May 10, 2024.
  12. A reading day is scheduled for Saturday, May 11, 2024.
  13. Final examinations begin on Monday, May 13, 2024.
  14. The last day of final examinations and the end of the semester is on Friday, May 17, 2024.
  15. UMass graduation 2024 and Commencement Weekend starts on Friday, May 17, 2024 and ends on Sunday, May 19, 2024.
  16. Spring 2024 Final grades are due by midnight on Thursday, May 23, 2024.

For more on UMass academic calendar 2023-2024, visit the University of Massachusetts Amherst registrar website.