SJSU Academic Calendar for 2023-2024 San Jose State University

Articles59 Views

SJSU Academic Calendar for 2023-2024 San Jose State University

SDSU 1

SJSU Academic Calendar 2023-2024 contains deadlines, enrollment dates, holidays, add/drop dates and important dates. San Jose State University is on a semester system.

Staying informed about registration and payment deadlines is essential to your academic success.

See key dates on each SJSU academic calendar for the current and future terms.

Table of Contents

SJSU academic calendar fall 2023

Check out the important dates on the SJSU academic calendar for fall 2023.

  1. Enrollment Appointments are Viewable on MySJSU for Continuing Students on Thursday, April 13, 2023. SJSU Class schedule is also available on MySJSU or SJSU Class Schedule Page.
  2. Fall 2023 Advance Registration for Continuing Students begins on Tuesday, April 25, 2023 and ends on Wednesday, August 16, 2023.
  3. Fall 2023 Housing Application Priority Deadline is Monday, May 1, 2023.
  4. Variable waitlist process and Automated Waitlist Reprioritization begins on Tuesday, May 16, 2023.
  5. Enrollment Appointments Viewable on MySJSU for New Graduate Students on Tuesday, June 6, 2023.
  6. Advance Registration for New Graduate Students begins on Wednesday, June 7, 2023 and ends Tuesday, August 16, 2023.
  7. Enrollment Cap is increased to 19 units for Graduating Seniors who filed by March 13, 2023 on Monday, June 26, 2023.
  8. Enrollment Cap increased to 19 units for Continuing Undergraduate Students in Good Standing on Monday, July 3, 2023.
  9. Excess Units Petition is available on Forms’ page on Thursday, July 27, 2023.
  10. First-time repeaters enrollment starts on Monday, July 31, 2023 at 9 am on MySJSU.
  11. Check-in for early arrival is August 10, 2023 from 1 pm to 5 pm, and the cost is based on the daily rate of your room type. You must already be assigned a room space for Fall 2023 to apply for Early arrival. You will be notified by August 4, 2023 if you are approved for Early arrival.
  12. SJSU move in day fall 2023 is from August 13, 2023 to August 14, 2023.
  13. Wednesday, August 16, 2023 is the last day to Drop for 100% Refund.
  14. Fall 2023 registration closes from Thursday, August 17, 2023 to Friday, August 18, 2023.
  15. SJSU fall 2023 start date is Monday, August 21, 2023. It is SJSU First Day of classes for fall 2023.
  16. Late registration begins on MySJSU on Monday, August 21, 2023 at 7 am.
  17. Waitlist ends on Monday, August 28, 2023 according to SJSU academic calendar 2023-2024.
  18. Permission number is required to add a class on Tuesday, August 29, 2023.
  19. The last day to Drop Classes without a “W” Grade via MySJSU is Friday, September 15, 2023.
  20. The last day to Add Classes via MySJSU is Friday, September 15, 2023.
  21. Friday, September 15, 2023 is the last day to submit Audit. Credit/No-Credit Option Request (DocuSign).
  22. The last day to submit Instructor Drops is Friday, September 15, 2023.
  23. Late Add Pre-Census Request requirement begins on Friday, September 9 2022.
  24. Enrollment Census Date (No erollment allowed) is Monday, September 18, 2023.
  25. Late Add Post Census Request is required on Tuesday, September 19, 2023. Petition will be available on Forms page at 9 a.m.
  26. Late Drop/ Semester Withdrawal Petition Requirement begins on Tuesday, September 19, 2023.
  27. Veteran Day holiday is Friday, November 10, 2023 on the SJSU academic calendar. There are no classes.
  28. Fall Semester Withdrawal deadline is Monday, November 13, 2023.
  29. Late Enrollment Post Census ends on Monday, November 13, 2023.
  30. SJSU Thanksgiving break 2023 is from Wednesday, November 22, 2023 to Friday, November 24, 2023. Classes resume on Monday, November 27, 2023, after the Thanksgiving break.
  31. SJSU Fall 2023 classes end on Wednesday, December 6, 2023. The last day of classes.
  32. Wednesday, December 6, 2023 is the last day to Complete Coursework for “Incomplete Grades”.
  33. Final exams are from Friday, December 8, 2023 to Friday, December 15, 2023. There is no exam on Sunday.
  34. SJSU fall Commencement/graduation 2023 is on Monday, December 18, 2023, and Tuesday, December 19, 2023.
  35. SJSU Fall grades are due from faculty on Tuesday, December 19, 2023.
  36. Grades are viewable on Wednesday, December 20, 2023 on MySJSU.
  37. SJSU Winter break 2023 is from Wednesday, December 20, 2023 to Sunday, January 21, 2024. SJSU winter break is 1 month long. Dorms or apartments remain open during the San Jose State University winter break at no additional fee.
  38. Academic Standing & Current Semester Grades are posted on MySJSU & Transcripts on Wednesday, January 10, 2024.

SJSU academic calendar spring 2024

Check out the important dates on the SJSU academic calendar for spring 2024.

  1. San Jose State University observes New Year’s Day on Monday, January 1, 2024, and the campus is closed.
  2. Monday, January 15, 2024, marks Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day, and the campus is closed in honor of the occasion.
  3. The Spring 2024 Semester begins on Monday, January 22, 2024.
  4. Pre-instruction activities, including Faculty Orientation, Advisement, Faculty Meetings, and Conferences, take place from Monday, January 22, 2024, to Tuesday, January 23, 2024.
  5. SJSU Spring 2024 classes start on Wednesday, January 24, 2024. It is the First Day of Instruction, and classes officially begin.
  6. Monday, February 19, 2024, serves as the Last Day to Drop Courses without an Entry on the Student’s Permanent Record and also the Last Day to Add Courses and register Late.
  7. The Enrollment Census Date is Tuesday, February 20, 2024.
  8. Cesar Chavez Day is observed on Monday, April 1, 2024, and the campus is closed.
  9. SJSU Spring Break 2024 is from Monday, April 1, 2024, to Friday, April 5, 2024.
  10. Monday, May 13, 2024, marks the Last Day of Instruction and the conclusion of Spring 2024 classes.
  11. Tuesday, May 14, 2024, is a Study/Conference Day with no classes or exams.
  12. SJSU Spring 2024 Final Examinations (exams) take place from Wednesday, May 15, 2024, to Tuesday, May 21, 2024.
  13. Wednesday, May 22, 2024, is designated as the Final Examinations Make-Up Day.
  14. Grade Evaluation Day falls on Thursday, May 23, 2024.
  15. Spring 2024 grades are due from faculty on Friday, May 24, 2024. 
  16. The End of the Academic Year and the conclusion of the Spring Semester is Friday, May 24, 2024.
  17. SJSU Graduation 2024 and Commencement ceremonies take place from Wednesday, May 22, 2024, to Friday, May 24, 2024.

For more on the SJSU academic calendar 2023-2024, visit the San Jose State University registrar page.