Oberlin Academic Calendar 2023-2024 Oberlin University

Articles57 Views

Oberlin Academic Calendar 2023-2024 Oberlin University

Oberlin University 1

The Oberlin academic calendar 2023-2024 provides academic schedules, important dates and deadlines for academic record changes throughout the semester. 

The academic calendar is divided into three semesters: Fall, Spring, and Summer. 

Each semester is made up of a series of weeks. Students attend classes each week, take exams, and complete assignments. The number of weeks in each semester varies, but most semesters are 15 weeks long.

The Fall semester begins in early September and ends in late December. The Spring semester begins in early February and ends in late May. The Summer semester begins in early June and ends in late August. There is also a winter term from Wednesday, January 3, 2024, to Tuesday, January 30, 2024 as outlines on the Oberlin academic calendar.

Oberlin University’s Winter Term is a four-week, off-semester program that allows students to pursue their academic and personal interests more in-depth. Students can choose from various projects, including internships, research, creative projects, and community engagement.

It is mandatory for all students, regardless of their status, to adhere to the deadlines outlined in the Oberlin academic calendar. Students who foresee any challenges in meeting the set deadline should contact the Registrar’s Office beforehand to arrange an extension or appeal.

Table of Contents

Oberlin academic calendar fall 2023

Here is a detailed list of the Oberlin academic calendar for the fall 2023 semester.

  1. Oberlin move in day 2023 is from Sunday, August 27, 2023, to Wednesday, August 30, 2023. New student move-in day and orientation is on Sunday, August 27, 2023. Move-in for returning students is on Tuesday, August 29 and Wednesday, August 30, 2023. Whichever day works best for the student.
  2. Oberlin Fall 2023 classes start on Thursday, August 31, 2023. It is the first day of classes for the Fall 2023 semester.
  3. Labor Day holiday is Monday, September 4, 2023. There are no classes.
  4. The deadline to request a course underload is Tuesday, September 5, 2023.
  5. The deadline to check in is Thursday, September 7, 2023.
  6. Add/drop deadline for first-module, full-semester, and ExCo courses is Tuesday, September 12, 2023.
  7. The deadline to submit audit forms for first-module and full-semester courses is Tuesday, September 12, 2023.
  8. The deadline to apply to graduate in December 2023 is Tuesday, September 12, 2023.
  9. Winter Term registration opens on Wednesday, September 13, 2023, according to the Oberlin academic calendar 2024.
  10. Yom Kippur is on Monday, September 25, 2023. There are no classes.
  11. The withdrawal deadline from first-module courses is Thursday, October 5, 2023.
  12. The deadline to declare the P/NP option for first-module courses is Wednesday, October 11, 2023.
  13. Oberlin Fall Break 2023 is from Saturday, October 14, 2023, to Sunday, October 22, 2023. Residence halls will remain open to students who have completed the Fall Break 2023 Application Form. Classes resume on Monday, October 23, 2023.
  14. First-module classes end on Wednesday, October 25, 2023.
  15. The deadline for December 2023 pending graduates to submit majors/minors/concentration declarations to the Office of the Registrar is Wednesday, October 25, 2023.
  16. The deadline for December 2023 pending graduates to submit a transfer of credit to the Office of the Registrar is Wednesday, October 25, 2023.
  17. Midterm grades are due from faculty via Banner Self-Service on Wednesday, October 25, 2023.
  18. Second-module classes begin on Thursday, October 26, 2023, according to Oberlin academic calendar 2023-2024.
  19. Grades for first-module courses are due from faculty via Banner Self Service on Friday, November 3, 2023.
  20. The Add/drop deadline for second-module courses is Monday, November 6, 2023.
  21. The deadline to submit audit forms for second-module courses is Monday, November 6, 2023.
  22. The withdrawal deadline from full-semester courses is Thursday, November 9, 2023.
  23. The deadline to register for Winter Term is Friday, November 17, 2023.
  24. Oberlin Thanksgiving Break 2023 is from Thursday, November 23, 2023, to Sunday, November 26, 2023. Residence halls will remain open to students who have completed the 2023 Oberlin University Thanksgiving Break Application Form. Classes resume on Monday, November 27, 2023.
  25. The deadline to declare the P/NP option for full-semester courses is Tuesday, November 28, 2023.
  26. The withdrawal deadline from the second-module course is Thursday, November 30, 2023.
  27. The deadline to declare the P/NP option for second-module courses is Tuesday, December 5, 2023, according to Oberlin academic calendar 2023-2024.
  28. Fall 2023 classes end on Tuesday, December 12, 2023.
  29. The fall Reading period is from Wednesday, December 13, to Saturday, December 16, 2023.
  30. Final grades are due from ExCo instructors on Saturday, December 16, 2023.
  31. Oberlin Fall 2023 Final examination period is from Sunday, December 17, 2023, to Thursday, December 21, 2023.
  32. The last day of the Fall semester is Thursday, December 21, 2023.
  33. Oberlin Winter Break 2023 is from Friday, December 22, 2023, to Sunday, February 4, 2024.
  34. Fall 2023 final grades are due from faculty via Banner Self-Service on Tuesday, January 2, 2024.
  35. The latest date incomplete work may be due on Friday, January 5, 2024, according to Oberlin academic calendar. Specific deadlines are arranged through the incomplete process. 
  36. The faculty’s grades for incompletes are due on Wednesday, January 10, 2024.
  37. Academic standing committees meet regarding fall semester academic performance on Monday, January 22, 2024.

Oberlin academic calendar Spring 2024

Here is a detailed list of the Oberlin academic calendar for the spring 2024 semester.

  1. The deadline for credit transfer before Spring 2024 registration appointments is Friday, September 22, 2023.
  2. The deadline to apply to Study Away in Spring 2024 is Sunday, October 15, 2023.
  3. Registration information is available in Banner Self Service for students (including registration appointment time and any holds) for Spring 2024 on Monday, October 23, 2023.
  4. Advising for Spring 2024 begins on Thursday, October 26, 2023.
  5. Registration for Spring 2024 begins (See Banner Self-Service for registration appointments) on Monday, November 13, 2023.
  6. Oberlin Spring 2024 classes start on Monday, February 5, 2024.
  7. The deadline to request a course underload is Wednesday, February 7, 2024.
  8. The deadline to check-in is on Friday, February 9, 2024.
  9. The add/drop deadline for first-module, full-semester, and ExCo courses is Wednesday, February 14, 2024.
  10. The deadline to submit audit forms for first-module and full-semester courses is Wednesday, February 14, 2024.
  11. The deadline to apply to graduate in May 2024 is Wednesday, February 14, 2024.
  12. The deadline for the transfer of credit before Fall 2024 registration appointments is Friday, March 1, 2024.
  13. One-month progress reports submitted by Arts and Sciences faculty from Monday, March 4, to Friday, March 8, 2024.
  14. The withdrawal deadline from first-module courses is Monday, March 11, 2024.
  15. The deadline to declare the P/NP option for first-module courses is Friday, March 15, 2024.
  16. The deadline to apply to Study Away in Fall 2024 is Friday, March 15, 2024, according to Oberlin academic calendar 2024-2025.
  17. First-module classes end on Friday, March 22, 2024.
  18. The deadline for May 2023 pending graduates to submit major/minor/concentration declarations to the Office of the Registrar is Friday, March 22, 2024.
  19. The deadline for May 2023 pending graduates to submit a credit transfer to the Office of the Registrar is Friday, March 22, 2024.
  20. Oberlin Spring Break 2023 is from Saturday, March 23, to Sunday, March 31, 2024.
  21. Second-module classes begin on Monday, April 1, 2024.
  22. Schedule of Classes available for Fall 2024 on Monday, April 1, 2024.
  23. The Oberlin academic calendar 2024-2025 course catalogue will be available on Monday, April 1, 2024.
  24. Registration information is available in Banner Self Service for students (includes registration appointment time and any holds) for Fall 2024 on Monday, April 1, 2024.
  25. Midterm grades are due from faculty via Banner Self-Service on Tuesday, April 2, 2024.
  26. Advising for Fall 2024 begins on Wednesday, April 3, 2024, according to Oberlin academic calendar 2024-2025.
  27. Grades for first-module courses are due from faculty via Banner Self-Service on Tuesday, April 9, 2024.
  28. Add/drop deadline for second-module courses on Wednesday, April 10, 2024.
  29. The deadline to submit audit forms for second-module courses is Wednesday, April 10, 2024.
  30. The withdrawal deadline from full-semester courses is Monday, April 15, 2024.
  31. Registration for Fall 2024 begins on Monday, April 15, 2024, according to Oberlin academic calendar 2024-2025.
  32. The deadline to declare the P/NP option for full-semester courses is Friday, April 26, 2024.
  33. The deadline to declare the P/NP option for second-module courses is Friday, May 3, 2024.
  34. The withdrawal deadline from second-module courses is Monday, May 6, 2024.
  35. Spring 2024 classes end on Friday, May 10, 2024.
  36. The reading period is from Saturday, May 11, to Tuesday, May 14, 2024.
  37. Final grades are due from ExCo instructors on Tuesday, May 14, 2024.
  38. The final examination period is from Wednesday, May 15, to Sunday, May 19, 2024.
  39. The last day of the Spring semester is Sunday, May 19, 2024.
  40. Final grades for graduating seniors are due via Banner Self-Service on Wednesday, May 22, 2024.
  41. Sping 2024 Commencement is on Monday, May 27, 2024.
  42. Final grades for all other students are due from faculty via Banner Self-Service on Wednesday, May 29, 2024.
  43. Latest date incomplete work may be due. Specific deadlines were arranged through the incomplete process on Wednesday, June 5, 2024.
  44. Grades for incompletes are due from faculty on Monday, June 10, 2024.
  45. Academic Standing Committees meet regarding spring semester academic performance during the week of Monday, June 24, 2024.

For more on Oberlin academic calendar 2023-2024, visit the Oberlin University Registrar website.