FIU Academic Calendar for 2023-2024 Florida International University

Articles53 Views

FIU Academic Calendar for 2023-2024 Florida International University

Florida International University

Checkout: University of North Carolina Wilmington Academic Calendar

The FIU academic calendar 2023-2024 consists of registration dates, add/drop dates, semester breaks, holidays, other important dates, and deadlines.

Florida International University follows a semester-based academic calendar, which means that the academic year is divided into two main semesters: Fall and Spring. 

Each semester typically consists of approximately 16 weeks of instruction, allowing students to delve deep into their coursework and engage in various academic and extracurricular activities.

Table of Contents

FIU academic calendar Fall 2023

Here are the important dates and deadlines on the FIU academic calendar for Fall 2023.

  1. The last day to register without incurring a $100 late registration fee is Sunday, August 20, 2023.
  2. FIU Fall 2023 classes Start on Monday, August 21, 2023. It is the first day of classes for fall 2023 for Florida International University students.
  3. FIU Short-Term Tuition Loan Applications are available on Monday, August 21, 2023. The last day for students to apply for a Short Term Loan is Tuesday, August 29, 2023.
  4. The last day to submit Non-degree Application for Fall 2023 term is Friday, August 25, 2023. Check out FIU Canvas.
  5. The last day to Add/Drop is Monday, August 28, 2023. It is also the Last day to change the grading option.
  6. Fall 2023 Rent Payment Due Date is Tuesday, August 29, 2023.
  7. Labor Day holiday is Monday, September 4, 2023. There are no classes.
  8. The Last Day to Drop with a DR Grade is Monday, October 30, 2023.
  9. Veterans Day Observed is on Friday, November 10, 2023. There are no Classes.
  10. FIU Thanksgiving break 2023 is from Thursday, November 23, 2023, to Saturday, November 25, 2023. Classes resume on Monday, November 27, 2023.
  11. The last day of regular classes is Saturday, December 2, 2023.
  12. FIU Finals Week for fall 2023 is from Monday, December 4, 2023, to Saturday, December 9, 2023.
  13. The end of the Fall 2023 term is Saturday, December 9, 2023.
  14. Fall 2023 Move-Out date is Saturday, December 9, 2023.
  15. FIU Winter Break 2023 is from Monday, December 11, 2023, to Sunday, January 7, 2024.
  16. The deadline for Faculty to Submit Grades is Wednesday, December 13, 2023.
  17. Grades are Available for Students on Thursday, December 14, 2023.
  18. FIU Fall 2023 graduation Degree Conferral Date is Saturday, December 16, 2023.

FIU Move-in day fall 2023

FIU Move-In Day Fall 2023 is from Thursday, August 17, 2023, to Saturday, August 19, 2023. 

Students must Sign-up For Move-In from Tuesday, July 5, 2023, according to FIU academic calendar 2023-2024.

  1. Starting from July 5, go to my.fiu.edu.
  2. Click on “Student Tools.”
  3. Select “MMC Housing.”
  4. Choose a Move-In time that is convenient for you.
  5. After selecting the Move-In time, you will receive a confirmation email.
  6. On the designated Move-In day, arrive on campus at the scheduled time.

On the day of check-in, you need to complete the Online Check-In process:

  1. Ensure you turn off any pop-up blockers in your phone settings for the housing portal.
  2. Go to my.fiu.edu.
  3. Click on “Student Tools.”
  4. Select “Student Housing.”
  5. Click on “Housing at MMC.”
  6. Choose “Fall Check-in.”
  7. Complete the online check-in process.
  8. Once the online check-in is completed, show the confirmation email at the front desk.
  9. You will receive your key at the front desk.
  10. The key will activate your OneCard, allowing you to swipe into your assigned building and the entry door to your unit.

Following these steps will ensure a smooth move-in process for FIU students in 2023.

FIU academic calendar Spring 2024

Here are the important dates and deadlines on the FIU academic calendar for Spring 2024.

  1. FIU Spring 2024 Move-in Day is Friday, January 5, 2024.
  2. FIU Spring 2024 Classes start on Monday, January 8, 2024.
  3. Martin Luther King Day holiday is Monday, January 15, 2024. There are no Classes.
  4. Spring 2024 Add/Drop is on Tuesday, January 16, 2024.
  5. The rent payment due date is Wednesday, January 17, 2024.
  6. FIU Spring Break 2024 is from Monday, February 26, 2024, to Saturday, March 2, 2024. Offices are Open during Florida International University Spring break. Classes resume on Monday, March 4, 2024.
  7. The last day to Drop with a DR Grade is Monday, March 18, 2024.
  8. The Last Regular Class Day is Saturday, April 20, 2024.
  9. FIU Final Exams for Spring 2024 are from Monday, April 22, 2024, to Saturday, April 27, 2024.
  10. Spring 2024 Term ends on Saturday, April 27, 2024.
  11. Spring 2024 Move-Out date is Saturday, April 27, 2024, by Noon.
  12. Grades Available for Students on Thursday, May 2, 2024.
  13. FIU Degree Conferral Date is Saturday, May 4, 2024.

As students embark on their journey at FIU, understanding the academic calendar becomes crucial for successful planning and navigation. For more on FIU academic calendar 2023-2024, visit the FIU calendar website.