Duke Academic Calendar for 2023-2024 Duke University

Articles52 Views

Duke Academic Calendar for 2023-2024 Duke University

Duke academic calendar 2023-2024 has the drop/add dates, registration dates, holidays, important dates, and deadlines. Duke University is on a semester system and uses a credit system.

Duke University

Checkout: University of North Texas Academic Calendar

Most courses are 1.0 credits, and the average course load is four courses (credits) each semester. A 1.0-credit course at Duke is similar to a three-or four-hour course at another university.

Here are the important dates and deadlines on the Duke academic calendar for Fall, Spring, and Summer. 

This academic calendar is for Trinity College of Arts & Sciences, the Pratt School of Engineering, the Nicholas School of the Environment, the Graduate School, the Sanford School of Public Policy, and the School of Nursing.

Table of Contents

Duke academic calendar fall 2023

Here are the important dates, schedules, and deadlines on the Duke academic calendar for Fall 2023.

  1. Shopping carts open for Fall 2023 on Monday, March 27, 2023.
  2. Registration begins for Fall 2023 on Wednesday, April 5, 2023 to Thursday, April 13, 2023.
  3. Drop/Add begins for Fall 2023 on Friday, April 14, 2023.
  4. Duke move-in day fall 2023 is on Saturday, August 19, 2023, for new students. Duke undergraduate students’ move-in day is Friday, August 25, 2023.
  5. Duke University New undergraduate student orientation begins on Saturday, August 19, 2023.
  6. New Graduate student orientation begins on Tuesday, August 22, 2023.
  7. Welcome reception for new graduate and professional school students is on Wednesday, August 23, 2023 at 4:00 pm.
  8. Duke University Convocation for new undergraduate students is on Sunday, August 27, 2023 at 3:00 pm. 
  9. Duke Fall 2023 semester classes start on Monday, August 28, 2023 at 8:30 am. 
  10. Drop/Add continues on Monday, August 28, 2023.
  11. Labor Day holiday is Monday, September 4, 2023. There are no classes held on this day.
  12. Drop/Add ends on Friday, September 8, 2023.
  13. Duke Founders’ Weekend 2023 is from Thursday, September 28 to Sunday, October 1, 2023 according to Duke academic calendar 2023-2024. Founder’s Day is Sunday, October 1, 2023.
  14. Friday, October 13, 2023 is the last day for reporting midsemester grades.
  15. Duke Fall break 2023 begins on Friday, October 13, 2023 at 7:00 pm and ends on Tuesday, October 17, 2023. Classes resume after Duke University Fall break on Wednesday, October 18, 2023 at 8:30 am.
  16. Friday, November 10, 2023 is the last day to withdraw with W from Fall 2023 classes (undergraduates only).
  17. Duke Thanksgiving break 2023 is from Wednesday, November 22, 2023, to Sunday, November 26, 2023. Classes resume after Thanksgiving break on Monday, November 27, 2023 at 8:30 am.
  18. Duke University Graduate classes 700 and above end on Friday, December 1, 2023.
  19. The graduate reading period is from Saturday, December 2, 2023, to Tuesday, December 12, 2023 according to Duke academic calendar 2023-2024.
  20. Duke University Undergraduate classes end on Friday, December 8, 2023. Some Graduate 500-699 classes end.
  21. The undergraduate reading period is from Saturday, December 9, 2023 to Tuesday, December 12, 2023.
  22. Duke Fall 2023 Final examinations begin at 9:00 am on Wednesday, December 13, 2023, and end on Monday, December 18, 2023 at 10:00 pm.
  23. Duke Winter break 2023 is from Tuesday, December 19, 2023 to Tuesday, January 9, 2024. Fall 2023 move-out date is Tuesday, December 19, 2023 for Winter Break. Residence halls close for winter break at noon; students moving out of on-campus housing must complete their move-out by noon.

Duke academic calendar spring 2024

Here are the important dates, schedules, and deadlines on the Duke academic calendar for Spring 2024.

  1. Spring semester begins at Duke on Wednesday, January 10, 2024 (8:30 AM), following the Monday class schedule. Drop/Add continues on this day.
  2. Regular class meeting schedules begin on Thursday, January 11, 2024, and the Thursday class schedule is followed.
  3. Classes meeting in a Wednesday/Friday meeting pattern begin on Friday, January 12, 2024.
  4. Martin Luther King Jr. Day holiday is observed on Monday, January 15, 2024, with no classes held.
  5. Drop/Add period ends on Wednesday, January 24, 2024, at 11:59 PM.
  6. The last day for reporting midsemester grades is on Friday, February 23, 2024.
  7. Duke Spring Break 2024 is from Friday, March 8, 2024, at 7:00 PM, to Sunday, March 17, 2024. Classes resume after spring recess on Monday, March 18, 2024 (8:30 AM).
  8. Shopping carts open for Fall 2024 on Monday, March 25, 2024.
  9. The last day to withdraw with a W from Spring 2024 classes (undergraduates only) is Wednesday, March 27, 2024.
  10. Registration for Fall 2024 begins on Wednesday, April 3, 2024, while Summer 2024 registration continues, according to the Duke academic calendar 2024-2025.
  11. Registration ends for Fall 2024 on Thursday, April 11, 2024; Summer 2024 registration continues.
  12. Drop/Add period begins for Fall 2024 on Friday, April 12, 2024.
  13. Graduate classes 700+ end, and some graduate classes 500-699 may end at department/instructor discretion on Thursday, April 17, 2024.
  14. A graduate reading period is observed from Thursday, April 18, to Sunday, April 28, 2024.
  15. Undergraduate classes end on Wednesday, April 24, 2024, and the remaining graduate classes 500-699 end.
  16. An undergraduate reading period takes place from Thursday, April 25, to Sunday, April 28, 2024.
  17. Spring Final examinations begin on Monday, April 29, 2024, at 9:00 AM to Saturday, May 4, 2024, at 10:00 PM.
  18. Duke Graduation and Commencement is on Friday, May 10, 2024. Graduation exercises and conferring of degrees take place on Sunday, May 12, 2024.

Visit the Duke University registrar page for more on Duke academic calendar. Law students can find the Duke Law academic calendar 2023-2024 on the Duke Law Calendar website.